

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Curtis Brown Chairman Lisa Schott Vice Chairman Michael Neukamm Secretary Eric Moleski Treasurer Scott Altman Caroline Schumacher President & CEO

Rick Armstrong Patrick Biltgen • Jessica Blomberg • Larry Bradley • Daniel Brandenstein • Kevin Chilton • Richard Covey • Chris Ferguson • Bernard Harris • Jim Hays Janet Kanvand •

- Charles Precourt 🔺
- Brewster Shaw 🔺
- Kathryn Thornton 🔺

BOARD OF TRUSTEES Laura Shepard-Churchley Chairman Andrew Allen Ann Brown Patricia Carpenter Arthur Coleman Massimo Cutuli Charlie Duke **Richard Garriott** Robert "Hoot" Gibson 🔺 Rebecca Griffin Bill Jaeger Jarret Lafleur 😑 James Mault Joe Maver Lawrence McGlynn **Dirk Raemdonck Bob Sieck** Thomas Stafford Carol Fitzgerald Tyler Ox van Hoften Steve Wirth

HONORARY TRUSTEES LeVar Burton Tom Hanks

> Astronaut 🔺 Scholar 😑

CHRISTOPHER J. FERGUSON

Christopher J. Ferguson, a retired U.S. Navy captain and former NASA astronaut.

Ferguson, a NASA astronaut for 13 years, is a veteran of three space shuttle missions. Prior to his service as an astronaut, he was an F-14 Tomcat pilot and test pilot who served aboard the USS Forrestal and USS Nimitz.

Ferguson leverages his space shuttle experience as pilot of STS-115 (Atlantis), commander of STS-126 (Endeavour) and commander of the final shuttle mission, STS-135 (Atlantis). He has logged more than 40 days in space, 5,700 hours in high performance aircraft, and nearly 400 carrier arrested landings.

Ferguson has a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering from Drexel University in Philadelphia and a Master of Science degree in aeronautical engineering from the Naval Postgraduate School in Monterey, Calif. He holds an FAA Airline Transport Pilot certificate and a Professional Engineer's license. Ferguson has been recognized with numerous service awards and citations, including the Legion of Merit, Distinguished Flying Cross, Defense Meritorious Service Medal, Navy Strike/Flight Air Medal, NASA Distinguished Service Medal, and NASA Spaceflight Medals.

Ferguson serves on the Board of Directors for the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF). ASF, founded in 1984, honors the legacy of pioneering astronauts while identifying and recognizing exceptional STEM students at the junior/senior level of college. ASF partners with 41 prestigious universities and awarded 56 Astronaut Scholars in 2020. ASF is known as one of the most prestigious STEM scholarships in the United States, awarding each scholar up to \$15,000.

ASF was founded by astronauts and continues to be led by astronauts, including Ferguson, who inspire these brilliant minds to pursue their research, entrepreneurial endeavors and develop new and innovative technology. The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation fuels America's next frontier. The young, exceptional minds we support are destined to make lasting contributions in their chosen STEM fields – from medicine and energy to cyber technology and beyond. Their innovations will lead to advancements with immense ripple effects benefitting us all.

In accordance with federal law and U.S. Department of the Treasury policy, this institution is prohibited from discriminating on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability.